Tutorial: Embroidered Colour Wheel

I came up with this idea when I was looking for a non-existenet colour-wheel in my room. I can’t remember why I was looking for it, so obviously it wasn’t that important. But because I was looking for it, I came up with this idea. I needed a colour-wheel, and it had to look like a piece of art at the same time. And I came up with this!!

 

Embroidered Colour Wheel

You Will Need:

  • Embroidery hoop
  • Fabric (I just used a old sheet)
  • Thread (Red, Orange, Yellow, Green, Blue, Purple & Black)
  • Needle
  • Pencil (For sketching the Wheel onto the fabric)
  • Measuring Tape

Step 1. Stretch your fabric onto your hoop, and, once taut, sketch out your wheel (ON THE WRONG SIDE) using the pencil.

Completed Sketch

 Step 2. With your black thread, sew over the pencil lines.

Beginning the Circle

 Step 3. Now, colour in the sections using your coloured thread following the list below

  • RedRed Section
  • Red/OrangeRed/Orange Section
  • OrangeOrange Section
  • Orange/YellowOrange/Yellow Section
  • YellowYellow Section
  • Yellow/GreenYellow/Green Section
  • GreenGreen Section
  • Green/BlueGreen/Blue Section
  • BlueBlue Section
  • Blue/PurpleBlue/Purple Section
  • PurplePurple Section
  • Purple/RedPurple/Red Section

 Step 4. Frame it, and enjoy!! 

Completed Colour Wheel!!!

And there you go!!

You don’t need to do the same stitches as I do, which is why I didn’t say what stitches I used. You don’t have to follow my pattern for the colours either, in fact, I strongly suggest you make it totally yours!! Do any pattern for the sections, just so long as it’s a circle and you use the colours I listed, otherwise, it wouldn’t be a colour wheel, now would it?

By the way, if use this pattern or re-post/re-blog, can you please leave a link to this blog. Thanks!!

Hugs and kisses,

Digi sig

 

Leave a Reply

